At High Meadow, we believe you shouldn’t have to choose between social-emotional development and academic growth.
High Meadow teachers prioritize student well-being as a means to support authentic engagement with academic work. In collaboration with each other and every child, teachers foster classroom communities where every child is excited to learn.
Our teachers are guides and fellow researchers in their classes, designing student-centered plans and projects that honor their young people’s innate curiosity and creativity.
Small class sizes, along with a campus-wide commitment to the Positive Discipline method of classroom management, support teachers in maintaining a school culture of respect and belonging. 
Teachers at all grade levels engage in significant professional development activities, and have access to daily support from administrators and support staff.


Early Childhood



Rachel Roozen

Nursery, 2s Class Lead Teacher
rachelr@highmeadowschool.org

Stacey Wenzel

Nursery, 2s Class Assistant Teacher
staceyw@highmeadowschool.org

Althea Brown

Nursery, 3s Class Lead Teacher
altheab@highmeadowschool.org

Reta Sorge

Nursery, 3s Class Assistant Teacher
reta@highmeadowschool.org

Janine Louis

Pre-Kindergarten Lead Teacher
janinel@highmeadowschool.org

Peter Myers

Pre-Kindergarten Assistant Teacher
peterm@highmeadowschool.org

James Zoutis

Kindergarten Lead Teacher
james@highmeadowschool.org

Lonnie Cureton

Kindergarten 1:1 Aid
lonniec@highmeadowschool.org

Bella Kosmacher

Kindergarten Lead Teacher
bellak@highmeadowschool.org

Angela Van Ness

Kindergarten Assistant Teacher
angelav@highmeadowschool.org

James Burdick

Kindergarten Assistant Teacher
jamess@highmeadowschool.org



Lower School



Nina Friedman

1st Grade Co-Lead Teacher
ninaf@highmeadowschool.org

Hannah Giles

1st Grade Co-Lead Teacher
hannahg@highmeadowschool.org

Amanda Mackler

2nd Grade Lead Teacher
amandam@highmeadowschool.org

Hannah Murray

2nd Grade Assistant Teacher
hannah@highmeadowschool.org

Bridget Corso

3rd Grade Lead Teacher
bridget@highmeadowschool.org

Cici Ferrara

3rd Grade Assistant Teacher
cicif@highmeadowschool.org

Keri Zurlini

4th Grade Co-Lead Teacher
(beginning Aug 24, 2020)
keriz@highmeadowschool.org

Ann Marie Callan

4th Grade Co-Lead Teacher
annmariec@highmeadowschool.org



Upper School



Kimberly Carmody

5th Grade Homeroom
kimberlyc@highmeadowschool.org

Allyson Uzzle

6th Grade Homeroom
5th & 6th Grade Humanities Teacher
allyson@highmeadowschool.org

Hollie Paynter

Intern Teacher, 5th & 6th Grades
hollie@highmeadowschool.org

Marissa Ender

7th Grade Homeroom (co-teacher)
5th Grade Science Teacher
6th-8th Grade Math Teacher
marissa@highmeadowschool.org

Ashlee Fazio

7th Grade Homeroom (co-teacher)
7th & 8th Grade Math Teacher
ashlee@highmeadowschool.org

Aleah Dacey

8th Grade Homeroom
6th-8th Grade ELA Teacher
aleahd@highmeadowschool.org

Gian Ascione

6th-8th Grade Science Teacher
giana@highmeadowschool.org

Rachel Van Carpels

7th & 8th Grade Social Studies Teacher
Upper School Division Head
rachel@highmeadowschool.org

Leah Maidenbaum

Upper School Assistant Teacher
leahm@highmeadowschool.org

Sam Tate

Upper School Assistant Teacher
samt@highmeadowschool.org



Special Subjects & Electives



Victor Lissabet

Music Program Coordinator & Teacher
victor@highmeadowschool.org

Roberto Rodriguez

PreK-8th Grade Spanish Language Teacher
robertor@highmeadowschool.org

Ken McGloin

Adjunct Music Teacher
ken@highmeadowschool.org

Sean Whalen

Physical Education
seanw@highmeadowschool.org

James Burdick

5th-8th Grade Mandarin Chinese Language Teacher
jamess@highmeadowschool.org

Kimberly Carmody

N-8th Grade Art Teacher
kimberlyc@highmeadowschool.org

Bella Kosmacher

Kindergarten & 4th Grade Dance Teacher
bellak@highmeadowschool.org

Lisa Brown

1st-3rd Grade Dance Teacher
lisab@highmeadowschool.org

Allyson Uzzle

5th-8th Grade Drama Teacher
allyson@highmeadowschool.org

Jennifer Bousilman

Upper School Electives Dance Teacher
jennifer@highmeadowschool.org